For the average human being, seeing dark
auras, hearing ghostly whispers, and witnessing a contortion in the face of a
passerby could easily be chalked up to hallucinations, daydreams, nightmares;
mere illusions in reality. If we look hard enough, we will find explanations
for such paranormal events. However, in this world, there are humans that are
not so average. These humans are part of a bigger plan. Jesca Gershon-Sera is
entering her sophomore year of college in Marietta Georgia, her hometown. She
holds down a part-time job with her best friend, her family is close by, and
school is going well. Everything should be perfect. Except, recently Jesca has
been experiencing strange things; hallucinations, nightmares, daydreams that
she hasn’t experienced in years. Jesca attempts to brush them off as stress
from her new semester at school, but the illusions plaguing her reality
intensify. Jesca “illusions in reality” begin manifesting within her as
supernatural strength and abilities. Could she be losing her mind? Ezra Kahn, a
mysterious professor of Jesca’s, happens to be everywhere she is recently;
since the illusions intensified. Along with the slight fear that Ezra is
stalking her, Jesca fears that he may be the culprit of these illusions. One
night, in the heat of one of Jesca’s grand illusions, Ezra approaches her with
an unexpected revelation up his sleeve. He reveals that she is not losing her
mind, but rather all of the “illusions” in her skewed reality are very real and
cause for inconceivable, catastrophic events to come. Ezra explains to her
that, by birth, she is part of a fellowship of guardians that have inherited
the responsibility to protect our earth and the human race. In Piercing the
Fold: Book 1, “illusions in reality” are as real as you and I through the eyes
of college student, Jesca Gershon Sera, and a fellowship of guardians
predestined to protect humanity. *The Piercing the Fold series is intended for
Mature Young Adult and Adult readers due to the the paranormal and unorthodox
scientific concepts addressed throughout. This series contains a rich mixture
of the paranormal, science fiction, romance, adventure, and suspense.

About the Author:

In 2010, Venessa Kimball was struck by an
idea, a story, that needed telling. Having always been passionate about the
written word, Venessa embarked on writing what would become her debut novel,
Piercing the Fold: Book 1; a mature young adult/ adult crossover, paranormal,
science fiction series. July 2, 2012, Venessa Kimball independently published
the first book in the Piercing the Fold series. Book 2, Surfacing the Rim,
released March 14, 2013.

In August of 2013, Venessa joined the
publishing house, Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly. The Piercing the Fold
series will be re-published with them beginning with Piercing the Fold: Book 1
on September 3, 2013. Surfacing the Rim: Book 2 will be re-published on
September 24. 2013 and Ascending the Veil: Book 3 will be released for the
first time on October 18, 2013. The final book in the series, Book 4 (Title
TBD) will release in 2014.

As for the future, Venessa is already
filling her Work-In-Progress folder. Two of her future projects are
contemporary fiction and will reflect her diversity as a writer in other
genres. When Venessa is not writing, she is keeping active with her husband and
three children, chauffeuring said children to extracurricular activities,
participating in charitable 5k and 10k races(crazy…but she loves to run),
catching a movie with her hubby, and staying up way too late reading.